Shop By Composers

Site Information

 Loading... Please wait...
  • Image 1

Spectrum (Seven Preludes)


Product Description

For Piano.
By Jennifer Castellano.
By Jennifer Castellano.

Spectrum, Seven Preludes for Piano was inspired by a work by the American artist, Ellsworth Kelly (b. 1923).  The composer writes, "When I was a freshman in college, I saw his work entitled Spectrum at the Metropolitan Museum of Art.  The work consisted of thirteen large panels, and each contained a different color or shade of color.  The first panel was yellow and the last was yellow.  To me this work was a visual representation of a chromatic scale played one full octave up the piano keyboard.  Five years after the magnificent sighting at the Met, I decided that I wanted to make an audio representation of the seven colors of the rainbow, each represented by a different tonality or pitch center: A being red, B orange, C yellow, D green, E blue, F indigo, and G violet."  Spectrum abandons the use of the conventional major-minor key systems and instead uses a scale which the composer invented called the Castellonian Mode.  In it’s original form the scale is spelled C D E F G G# (or Ab) A Bb C.  The sound of this new tonal system exhibits both major and minor-like qualities and yet has a new sonority of its own.  The Castellonian Mode was invented in the summer of 2004 and has served as the basis of many of her tonal compositions.








Preview Score

Product Reviews

Write Review

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Find Similar Products by Category