Shop By Composers

Site Information

 Loading... Please wait...
  • Image 1
  • Image 2
  • Image 3
  • Image 4
  • Image 5

Ashinaabeg Rhapsody (Tone Poem) (download)

$90.00 $63.00
(You save $27.00)

Product Description

Although the word Anishinaabeg, best translated as "those whence descended" or the "noble people," refers to many of the
numerous Algonquin indigenous peoples of North America, it is here used specifically in reference to the Ojibwe of the
Upper Peninsula of Michigan. It was here that the composer spent many summers and it was those memories that allowed
the Anishinaabeg Rhapsody to come into being.

This particular composition is a symphonic tone poem which, unlike the majority of orchestral music which is able to stand
alone as pure musical thought, evokes historic, pictorial or literary subject matter. In other words, the composer paints
images and thoughts through sound.

The Anishinaabeg Rhapsody, which is scored for 2 flutes, 2 oboes, English horn, 3 clarinets in Bb, 2 bassoons, 4 horns and
strings, conjures images of the wind gently blowing through the pines, the purling of meandering streams, the rippling and
waving of grasslands, the thunderous waterfalls crashing hundreds of feet over cliffs into Lake Superior; in short, it portrays
Nature itself.

Preview Score

Other Details

Full Orchestra
Kenneth Piotrowski
Digital Download (pdf)

Product Reviews

Write Review

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Find Similar Products by Category

Related Products